“all together in one place”

For those of you less liturgically inclined, Sunday was Pentecost, the day when the Church (with a big “C”) commemorates the coming of the Holy Spirit.

For no particular reason, I was asked by our worship planner to read Acts 2:1 at the beginning of the service, just after the prelude. Just the one verse. First let me point out that the verse I was asked to read is one we tend to skip over in order to get to the next one. Acts 2:2 is much more exciting, beginning with “And suddenly…” (and then we get the freight-train wind and the tongues of fire). But I wasn’t assigned that part. Instead, I was asked to stand from my place  (I typically sit about 2/3 of the way back on the stage left side of our large sanctuary) and say,

When the day of Pentecost came, they were all together in one place.

I scared the second-grader sitting in front of me half to death, but otherwise didn’t get much reaction. I sat down and we sang a song and the service moved on.

But I sat pondering this: they were all together in one place.

At that important moment, they were all together in one place. They weren’t eating out after church at the local Mexican restaurant (though I wish they were – yum), they weren’t sitting on their own couches in their own homes watching the season finale of a very popular TV series, they weren’t in their dorm rooms on their laptops checking Facebook and grumbling about the new security settings.

They were all meeting together in one place.

Ouch.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , .

3 comments on ““all together in one place”

  1. Katie says:

    Even with internet, television, and teleconferences we really do need to BE there, don’t we? I slip into bad habits with this– I missed service last Sunday.

  2. Rebecca says:

    Does it count if we were sitting on couches in South and watching ‘the season finale of a very popular TV series’ with a bunch of people we didn’t know, but to whom we were connected by a mutual adoration of said TV show?
    I must admit, I got frustrated by the talking, the passing of cookies during important moments, the uncomfortable seats, the small (non-HD!!) tv up in the corner of the room, and wished many times that I was at home in my own space. It doesn’t always feel good to be ‘all meeting together in one place.’ I wish it did.
    And don’t worry, I realize that LOST doesn’t equal Church. 🙂

  3. elizabeth says:

    Katie,
    It is hard, I agree. As I look at our schedule for the summer and think about all the times we’ll be travelling or have family in town, it makes me wonder about my own priorities. Sure, those other things are important, too, but why don’t we ever arrange our schedules to be in town for church on Sunday morning? Isn’t that a strong enough commitment to keep us here or bring us home from vacation early?

    Rebecca,
    J feels like this about Steelers football. 🙂

Leave a Reply

