Like-Mindedness and the Church

So I’m still thinking about this “all meeting together in one place” Pentecost situation, probably because [confession] people drive me crazy. (That’s the nicest way to put it.)

I’m not sure I could have survived fifty days between the Resurrection and Pentecost in a room with my fellow church members, let alone Peter, Mary, and other confused friends of Jesus. I’m sometimes not sure I can survive even a single Sunday morning

But I’m reminded of a line from Kathleen Norris’s Amazing Grace, where she is talking about her own church community:

We are not individuals who have come together because we are like-minded. That is not a church, but a political party. (p. 272)

Norris’s suggestion is a provocative one, isn’t it? If we were all in agreement on everything, if we didn’t drive each other crazy, it might make the days pass more pleasantly. I like the sound of that. But are we still a church? I’m not so sure.

2 comments on “Like-Mindedness and the Church

  1. Stephen says:

    Norris’s quote is pretty interesting. We assume that at church we are all like-minded and if you’re not, then find somewhere else to worship. Because isn’t that the protestant way, if you don’t like it, you “protest” and find somewhere else to go.
    I think it would be more useful and healthy to embrace those differences and possibly grow a little. That verse in Acts simply says they were all together, it doesn’t say anything about being in agreement or even being happy. Maybe the reason the violent wind showed up was because they started to grumble and get angry with each other and God wanted to remind them that He was still around. 🙂

  2. elizabeth says:

    Yep. I agree, Stephen.

    It’s probably a conversation for another day to try to figure out what it actually looks like to “embrace those differences,” as you say. That’s where the rubber hits the road, isn’t it? I guess a good place to start is just by staying put.

Leave a Reply

