CSAs: Farmers Rock

We belong to a CSA, which stands for Community Supported Agriculture. Our CSA is awesome. Our CSA farmers are awesome. Every Friday morning, I peer into our bag or basket with curiosity and probably a little too much excitement over vegetables. We get a half-share each week, which, since I know you’re curious, consisted of green leaf lettuce, mustard greens, bok choy, onions, radishes, and strawberries two weeks ago. We also pay a little extra to get a half-dozen eggs each week.

Last week we started getting squash and zucchini and cucumbers! I wonder what this morning’s bounty will bring us?

I won’t post an update every week (though it will be hard to resist) but I wanted to mention it because this is community if there ever was such a thing. Knowing your farmer who grows your food? Celebrating with farmers when there is plenty but also taking risks alongside them in poor crop years? This is just amazing stuff.

I know that not everyone can participate in a CSA. They don’t exist everywhere, for one thing. It’s also tough to commit to eating seasonally (if you will only eat lettuce with tomatoes on top, for instance, you shouldn’t join a CSA). And it’s annoying to eat lots of the same food or be forced to eat the foods you don’t really like (I’ll admit that radishes and mustard greens are not my cups of tea) or have to make things you’ve never made before (how the heck does one cook bok choy?). You also might not want to join a CSA because you grow your own vegetables–lots of people I know, us included, do and I think that’s great, too. (We currently have bush beans, squash, and garlic planted, albeit mostly in pots due to our housing transition.)

But CSAs are worth considering, even if only for one season, because there’s something to be said for connecting to a community you might not otherwise know about.

Farmers rock. Go meet one.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged .

10 comments on “CSAs: Farmers Rock

  1. Rebekah says:

    BizLex just put out an article about CSAs that I’m quoted in. How funny is that? Thanks for splitting with us this year!

    • elizabeth says:

      Yep, I suppose it’s even more ‘community’ oriented than usual when you split a share with a friend… 🙂 We got swiss chard today!

  2. Craig says:

    I had to look up bok choy to even know what it was. (Actually, I’m still not entirely sure; it looks like Romaine lettuce to me.)

  3. elizabeth says:

    Craig, it goes well in stir fry. That’s all I got for ya.

  4. stephen says:

    We have a CSA here, but it’s too expensive since we also have a farmers market in town every friday. Today we went and got eggs, onions, lettuce, strawberries, and honey. It was fun to see all the merchants and ask them where they are from.

    Yes, local Farmers ROCK.

    • elizabeth says:

      Stephen, markets are definitely great, too. A year or two ago, I was at the farmers market at our nearest big city, which is a year-round market, and I came across turnips, which I must admit that I’m not sure I’d ever seen before. The farmer could tell I was a little perplexed by them, so he came over, demonstrated how to cut them, cut me off a chunk to taste, and told me how to cook them. I was so impressed by him that I bought a few… and they were grand! We even slice them thin sometimes to put them into veggie lasagna. Who knew?

  5. Elaine says:

    A bit off the subject here, but Brad and I are currently experiencing unique community in the form of friends we see only once in every few years and yet we have been friends for 27 years. The unique part of this friendship is that we are so comfortable with each other. Within one minute, it is as if we were never apart. We all four work in the kitchen to get meals and it is natural. We don’t have to discuss things, we know each other so well. This is a unique community not always found even in families.

  6. faithc says:

    Hi! I’ve seen your face around several place–one being at our beloved CSA farm and the gym. 🙂 Cynthia Insko was telling me about your blog today and I’ve been catching up on your home renovations. My hubs and I just purchased our own in Paris…looks like we have a lot of the same things going on in life right now!
    Take care!

  7. faithc says:

    PS–I hope that didn’t sound super stalker-ish. 🙂

Leave a Reply

