On Having 2+ Tunics

You probably remember my early post on tunic ownership. If not, it’s here. Go reread it before proceeding.

I have to admit that as I sit surrounded by boxes and bags and suitcases overflowing with stuff, and furniture without a home swarming my livingroom, and enough furniture to fill up this forever-under-construction home of ours we’ve just begun to occupy, well, I’m beginning to think I’ve got more than two tunics.

Don’t worry, though. I’m concocting plans to remedy the situation.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged .

3 comments on “On Having 2+ Tunics

  1. Elizabeth's Dad says:

    I love it Elizabeth! And you know you do it better than I do or probably most. It is easier for me to give something away to someone I know needs it instead of just giving it to a thrift shop (and you know I love to give to the Volunteers of America Thrift Stores). But I must confess too many times I keep something just because I may need it some day!

  2. elizabeth says:

    Thanks, Dad. I do suffer from the “I might need it some day” syndrome, too, but it’s also because I suffer from the cheapskate syndrome! I’m sure you don’t suffer from that one, right? I get it honestly, I know.

    Then again, I don’t regret my hoarding of leftover containers….

  3. Craig says:

    I can be a pack rat at times too, and I sometimes find myself wondering how hardwired we are to hoard, if it’s an extension of the drive to hoard food for the winter. But in any case, it’s always when I move that I’m reminded of just how much stuff a person can accumulate in a short period of time.

    I’m with your Dad when he writes that direct charity is always easier. I did some work with Goodwill several years ago, and while I think donating items to them is better than allowing those things to wind up in a landfill somewhere, I have some serious concerns about their business and labor practices, particularly on the volunteer level. So, yeah…cutting out the middle man and giving straight to the needy of the community is preferable, even if less convenient.

Leave a Reply

