Neighborliness

Before we moved into our house, one of the days we were outside working on trimming back shrubbery and transplanting our veggie plants, a young couple was walking by and stopped to meet us. They were friendly, so we chatted a bit and found out where they lived (on the corner across from our extra lot), their house’s history, where they went to church, what they did, and the obvious fact that they were expecting a child very soon. They told us that they were impressed with our “industriousness” (I think that was the word they used). I liked them straight off. Their names both start with A.

We’ve chatted with them a few times since then, and we found out that they would be delivering their baby the weekend we were moving in. They came home a few days later and were taking a walk down the street on the very same day they came home. (I am totally impressed by this.) I offered to take them a meal, which genuinely seemed to surprise them. Not that someone they barely knew had offered but because anyone had offered: it made me wonder if maybe this is not a normal thing to offer. Isn’t it? Maybe I’m somewhat blinded by the fact that if I ever am in the position to be having a child, you can sure as heck guarantee I will be wanting other people to cook for me! I think that’s what you do in community. (That’s point #1 for this blog post.)

As it turns out, Mrs. A had made meals ahead and frozen them for the week after the birth (talk about “industrious”!), and her mom was coming to visit in a few days anyway. So no, they didn’t need meals.

I decided I would make them cookies instead, as a gesture of hospitality, and made my famous chocolate chip cookies, the healthy version with flaxseed and applesauce replacing part of the butter, in case Mrs. A was health conscious post-pregnancy. I took them over the next day. Again, I think this is just what it means to be in community with people, right? Nothing special. Just community.

A few hours later, walking through the neighborhood again, they stopped by to drop off some blueberry muffins for us. Apparently we beat them to the punch, they said, and they wanted to welcome us to the neighborhood. We chatted again, and they offered to watch the house while we were away at various times this summer and remove any packages or flyers that get put on the porch.

I think watching out for each other is also what it means to be community. (Blog point #2)

Did I mention I like these people? (Blog point #3)

3 comments on “Neighborliness

  1. Craig says:

    Blueberry muffins are enough to melt the icy heart of even the most world-ravaged neighbor. I like these people too.

    • elizabeth says:

      I am a fan of any and all baked goods, I must confess. Maybe I can work with A. to spread the joy around the neighborhood… or at least down the street.

  2. Kelsie says:

    I think I would like these people too! I love when people get together and work on a project as a way of helping each other out. The camaraderie, everyone working toward a common goal, it warms my heart.

    I just talked with a friend today and as we were looking at her Abundant tomato crop we decided it would be fun and beneficial to get together to make salsa. Then we decided that we should just have a biweekly time (on the husbands’ Fridays off) that we got together and did something such as sewing, cooking, or whatever we come up with. I’m looking forward to that community.

Leave a Reply

