community & the writing of 18-year-olds

So, folks, I am about to embark on a new journey: teaching freshmen composition. I didn’t take freshmen comp as a fresh(wo)man myself ten long years ago, but tomorrow at 8 o’clock in the morning, I will find myself nervously standing in front of twenty-two also-nervous 18-year-olds, trying to get them to participate in an ice breaker they will despise.

I’m excited about getting to know this new little community, and I’m excited about the writing projects we use as part of the curriculum to help them develop as writers. Lucky for me, we talk a lot about community in this curriculum, and I think that’s pretty darn cool. They learn to analyze and write about communities and community issues–and they also learn to write for a community, rather than just for their instructors. I like it, for obvious reasons.

That said, I am also quite anxiety-ridden about the whole process, and as such, might be unreachable for a few days. Have no fear. I will return to Texas Schmexas soon.

Talk amongst yourselves.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized.

4 comments on “community & the writing of 18-year-olds

  1. Bonnie says:

    Just think, maybe one of them will become a famous ‘community organizer’!!!! ha!ha! PS I have been praying for your first day all week!! love you

  2. Gail says:

    Your honesty is absolutely precious from the ice breaker they will despise to your love of community and the already so teacher-like talk amongst yourselves. I am looking forward to hearing about the wonderful things that you and your students learn from each other.

  3. Craig says:

    Your students are so lucky to have you as a teacher. They don’t know it yet, but I do.

    Have a good class!

  4. elizabeth says:

    Thanks all. I appreciate the encouragement. The first week went well, and I will be back writing blog posts soon.

    I hope.

Leave a Reply

