And Yet Another Reason…

On lots of Fridays, I don’t have to drive down to campus because I spend the day at home grading papers, catching up on a freelance project, and doing homework. This morning, it was nice to sleep in until 7 am, and my slower morning resulted in J leaving the house a little later, too. A little bit after 8, as he went out the front door, I followed him out to check on our mums on the front porch. They weren’t looking so swell, so I took a few seconds to pull out the dead leaves, and then I grabbed the watering can and headed inside to fill it. (I normally fill it outside, but it was pretty cold this  morning and my hands were already beginning to go numb. I was standing in my PJs and robe, so I wasn’t exactly dressed for a cold morning.)

I turned around to head back into the house as J drove away and, unfortunately for me, when I tried to open the door, I found it to be locked. As is our habit when we leave in the morning, J had locked the door knob latch on his way out, not expecting me to follow him out the door, much less pull it closed behind me.

It was too  late to run after the car and try to get his attention to come back, and I didn’t have my phone or keys tucked away in the pockets of my robe. Hm. What to do?

Then I saw A’s car sitting out front. SCORE. Yet another reason why I am thankful I live in community (and that our “community” has a downstairs bedroom).

I walked around to the back door first, just to make sure it wasn’t unlocked, and then wandered over to A’s window and knocked, really loudly. His curtain moved, and then he peeked out, eye brow raised. I waved a cheery “good morning” and gestured toward the back door. After a few seconds, he appeared at the back door. I was thankful.

[Thank you, friend!]

What makes this story even better is that I came to find out that about a week ago, J found himself in the same position, knocking on A’s window to be let back into the house. Awesome.

So… maybe we better hide-a-key.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged .

5 comments on “And Yet Another Reason…

  1. That is a funny story! Very lucky that you had someone to let you in.

  2. Bonnie says:

    It sounds like you stayed at peace during the whole episode! That’s important! I remember the time our dining room door(which we NEVER lock since it opens into our garage) was locked and Ty’s keychain only had his car keys on it!!!! It was also nearly midnight when he arrived home and discovered his dilemma and had to call the security man! Hidden keys are a great idea!!!!

  3. Elizabeth's Dad says:

    Yeah, after 2 times, A will probably hide a key FOR you!

  4. elizabeth says:

    Thanks, folks.

    What’s extra funny is that just the day before I discovered that one of our front windows had been unlocked (probably for days), so I probably ruined any immediate chances of breaking into my own house only about 14 hours before I might have needed to do so!

    But the other good news is that we know our neighbors, so I wouldn’t have felt too bad about going and knocking on their door to use their phone… still, maybe a hide-a-key isn’t such a bad idea.

  5. Kelsie says:

    Maybe A should just charge a small fee when he has to get up and let you in. It could benefit him while adding incentive for you to not lock yourself out.

Leave a Reply

