on hiatus

In case you hadn’t noticed, Texas Schmexas is temporarily on hiatus. Give me until next week to start treading water again. Between now and then I have a seminar paper to write, 21 portfolios to grade, an issue of a journal to layout, a trip to Cincinnati to see Over the Rhine (!!!!), and a new housemate moving in. Not exactly heart-preparing-for-Advent material, but I’ll deal.

In the meantime, read through some old posts and share your thoughts. By the lack of comments recently, I assume you have been on hiatus as well. (Oh yes, I did go there. Maybe I’m feeling snarky today.)

And while I’m tossing on a little bit of guilt, here’s some food for thought, courtesy of Elaine.

A community is like a ship; everyone ought to be prepared to take the helm.

– a line from Henrik Ibsen’s play An Enemy of the People (quote from p. 19 of this version at Google Books)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged .

6 comments on “on hiatus

  1. Stephen says:

    Is there ever a day when you don’t feel snarky? 🙂 I think it’s genetic. 😉

  2. Elaine says:

    I am so glad you use portfolios – I keep telling my students they need to learn how to do them, but they think I am making it up! By the way, who’s the new roomate?

  3. Bonnie says:

    Another house mate or is A leaving?

  4. elizabeth says:

    Elaine and Mom,
    A is not moving out. We just have another friend moving in for a few weeks between semesters.

    Stephen,
    Nice one.

  5. Bonnie says:

    So what are the little quilt symbols in our comment blocks?

    • elizabeth says:

      I have no idea. I get a photo in mine because I am registered with WordPress. If you’re not, though, the quilts are the default. I like ’em, though. I’m sure you do, too, since it’s in our blood to like quilts.

Leave a Reply

