Gardening Lesson #2.1: “Each Season as It Passes”

(The first “Gardening Lesson” post, which introduces this series, can be found here. Lesson #1 is here, and #2 is here.)

Live in each season as it passes; breathe the air, drink the drink, taste the fruit, and resign yourself to the influences of each.

Because it’s quoted (and misquoted) many places online, you may have come across this excerpt from Henry David Thoreau’s journals before. Back when I was discouraged about moving to what often seemed to me to be a community wilderness, I found it to be both an encouraging word to focus on what was in front of me, to be grateful for the blessings I knew, and also the motivation I needed to stop whining.

At the time, I appreciated it on a metaphorical level.

But this spring, as things are beginning to bloom, I am endorsing this idea with enthusiasm on a completely literal level. Yes, literal.

You see, I’ve been walking by the berries on sale at the grocery store for some months now. Chile. Argentina. Mexico. California.

And now, folks, the time has come. Time for something even more amazing than I could have expected for the middle of May after such a rainy spring.

LOCAL STRAWBERRIES!

And that leads me to interrupt the quasi-series of “gardening lessons” to introduce this simple truth (we’ll call it Lesson 2.1):

Good things are worth waiting for.

Or, in other words, “…taste the fruit, and resign yourself to the influences of each.”

Leave a Reply

