Guest Post Wednesday: Refusing to Live Without Community

This week’s guest post comes to us courtesy of Bethany, from The Simple Day, a site dedicated to helpful hints about daily living. Our paths crossed serendipitously through a mutual friend. Bethany describes herself as  “a southerner, pastor’s wife, middle-school teacher, and Christian” who believes “life is designed by God to be fulfilling, exciting, joyful, and inspiring.” She also makes amazing homemade granola bars. She wrote this post a few weeks ago at The Simple Day, and as soon as I read it, I e-mailed her to ask if I could cross post it here. It’s a good reminder about choosing to live in community, with community. (She said yes.)

Today was a fantastic day.

I knew when I got up that it was going to be a great day.

This morning was great with a trip to the farmers’ market for cherries, kale, raw local honey, and fresh-roasted coffee…then breakfast with my favorite person in the world and some extended reading time.

Later, my final session as a tutor went well, too, as I am transitioning into a new job for the summer before I begin teaching full-time in the fall.

But the real part of the day that was amazing was from 5-9 tonight.

We had our first CityFest of the season in Spring Hill. For those of you who don’t know, Spring Hill, TN, is the small town where I live; it’s directly south of Nashville. CityFest is a big event that began about two years ago. The amazing thing is that it started as a small movie night for the city and has now grown into a huge event with many, many businesses, churches, and restaurants partnering to offer food, games, haircuts,  music, and activities for the public for free. There were easily 1000+ people there tonight, and it was incredible!

I was just amazed as I looked around tonight, because you see, it wasn’t just one large church or business or even the city that put everything together. It was a group effort. The city, the churches, the businesses, the restaurants, even the fire department all worked together to see this event put on.

It is amazing how much we can do when we work together, and it’s amazing how little we can do on our own.

John 17 talks about unity, and the truth is, the Bible talks much more about church unity–the whole churches in each city–than it does about smaller, individual congregations. It’s about ALL of us, and it’s about working together, in every single context to see more accomplished and  have greater effectiveness.

I don’t know what it looks like for you, but for me, I refuse to live without community in any area: my home, family, church, city, job, anything….I will not do it solo. It’s pointless. And not near as fun.

I’m living in community. Period.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged .

Leave a Reply

