Guest Post Wednesday: Somewhere in the middle of sodas, cookies, and fun

Due to his being one of the few people who regularly says “yes” when I ask for a guest post, this week’s Guest Post Wednesday comes to us courtesy of my big brother, who lives in the northwest. (Yes, that’s a hint about writing guest posts.) Enjoy!

So among many of the crazy community things we do around here, my wife and I lead several small groups for the youth ministry at the church we attend. This means that twice a week we have 10 – 15 senior high students descend upon our house, eat us out of house and home, and have lots of laughs together. Somewhere in the middle of all the sodas, cookies, and fun, we try to have a relatively deep conversation about what is going on in our lives and what God has been teaching us.

Late last night I sent a young lady, S, who visited our group a few weeks ago a reminder that we were meeting soon. She seemed interested but I knew she needed a ride. This morning I started working on finding her a ride. I knew one of our roommates, C, had offered her a ride, so I sent C a text message requesting a little bit of follow up and making sure she would arrange a ride to our visitor. At the end of the conversation, C said she’d take care of it and that “it’s no bid deal.”

You know, she’s right–giving someone a ride is not a big deal. But what is a big deal is helping someone connect to a new community.

You see S is not only new to our small group, she’s also new to the area. She recently moved here from out of state, she will be attending a new school in the fall, and she just started attending the church. All of those things can be very challenging and stressful for anyone let alone a teenager who feels all the pressure of fitting in. It is hard to tell where she would connect in this new environment.

The only thing we can do is try to help her connect with a safe community of believers who can encourage and challenger her to grow closer to God.

So that’s an important question to think about–what are you doing in your life that’s no big deal?

It  really could be a big deal.

To someone.

At some point.


This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , .

2 comments on “Guest Post Wednesday: Somewhere in the middle of sodas, cookies, and fun

  1. Liz's Dad says:

    Very good point. Everything we do could have an impact on something even if we never see the results. That is why we must do what we ‘feel’ we are to do even if it doesn’t make sense at the time. And that is not easy to do.

  2. elizabeth says:

    Stephen,
    I agree with Dad, and (as usual) I think we need to take it even one step further. Shocker, I know.

    I’d say that we must do even what we don’t “feel” like doing.

    Because it’s true, we really don’t know how much ordinary actions mean to someone else. Not even in a “pay it forward” sort of way, but in an ordinary, this is what it means to be community, to love people, to be real, sort of way.

    I was reminded of this last year at our high school reunion when people I couldn’t even remember (I am not exaggerating) tried to reminisce with me about, well, being friends with me. Trust me, I was not “friends” with them. But it helped me to realize that we are often building relationships just by smiling, paying attention to folks, listening, even when we’re unaware of it.

    Well, we’re either building relationships or we’re breaking relationships.

    Either way, we’re doing something.

    Thanks for offering some thoughts this week, hermano.

Leave a Reply

