Facebook Photo Fridays*

What says community more than this?

Yep, that’s a five-gallon bucket full of hot banana peppers.

You see, a few weeks ago, a friend dropped off a gallon Ziploc bag full of peppers, along with a 4-ounce jar of sweet hot mustard she’d made.

If you want the recipe, let me know, she wrote on a note attached to the Ziploc.

We tasted and saw that it was good, so we asked for the recipe and ended up with 24 of our own 4-ounce jars of goodness. Christmas presents, we thought to our frugal selves.

And then this happened:

I e-mailed my friend to say, “We loved the mustard! If you have any extra banana peppers, we’d be happy to take them off your hands.”

Right.

A few hours later, this was in our dining room.

That’s community.

_________________

* Without access to Facebook at the moment, this entry will have to suffice today for Facebook Photo Fridays.

5 comments on “Facebook Photo Fridays*

  1. You’ll have LOTS of great Christmas presents :).

    I love it when friends with green thumbs share the bounty of their harvest. This girl can do tomatoes…and barely even that. It’s such a heart-warmer to get a couple garden fresh cucumbers or squash. It’s more than just food.

  2. stephen says:

    AWESOME… i want the recipe. πŸ™‚

  3. elizabeth says:

    Susie–I’m definitely looking forward to sharing our goodies at Christmas! Luckily we live in a place that makes it pretty easy to grow stuff, so we’re working hard at preserving it… and sharing a good amount of it, too!

    Stephen–of course. πŸ™‚

  4. Dan Gephart says:

    I just finished my last jar of hot pepper honey mustard that I made last year. I took it up to the lake for everyone to enjoy. It was my first canning experience, made about 8 12 oz. jars and I will definitely be making it again.

    Dan Gephart

    • elizabeth says:

      Maybe we need to have a blind taste-test comparison at Christmas. πŸ™‚

      We also pickled some of the peppers, and I thought of you. I don’t know why I associate banana peppers with you, but I do.

Leave a Reply

