Seething vs. Seeing

I just got back from the grocery store. Somehow I thought that going at 5 pm on Saturday was a good idea, that it would be a “down” time at Broger.

Let me tell you: it’s not.

I also did something silly: I decided to go through the store in reverse to try to avoid my perpetual problem of getting stuck behind someone who is slow and then ending up following that person through the entire store. Instead, I thought, let’s try the soda aisle and milk first, and end with the produce. Somehow this seemed like a good idea. Let me tell you: it’s not.

By the time I made it back through the crowds to the bread and bagel aisle, I was nearly furious. When I came across the woman blocking the entire aisle in order to stand there and taste–yes, TASTE–the boxed donuts, you can imagine my displeasure. How I managed to calmly turn around and head in the other direction, I do not know. Divine intervention perhaps. Regardless, I was not a happy camper upon returning home.

So I sat down at the computer to try to come up with something positive to say about this experience.

And I did.

When I was a teenager, I remember going to the grocery store with my mom and running into her high school English teacher. My mom’s high school teacher. Not only did we run into her, but she recognized my mom. Recognized her!

At the time, I didn’t find this impressive. My response was more of a typical teenage response, something like “Oh my gosh, I can’t believe you still live in the same town with your high school English teacher.” It seemed backward, you know, like only people who didn’t move on in life would find themselves in this situation.

You can imagine my reaction to that memory now. It’s something more like this: Holy cats! That’s community!

And you know what?

While I was seething at the grocery store about parking so far away, I ran into a guy who used to be our neighbor when we first moved to this little town. He and his wife have now adopted two little boys from Africa, so I got to meet them.

Then, just after I bypassed the woman tasting the donuts, I ran into our plumber, of Texas Schmexas fame. He greeted me in his not-very-talkative way. But he greeted me.

Then, as I walked to my car, annoyed at how long it took me to check-out, I ran into a woman who works at my hair salon, a woman who asked me the last time I was in there if I jogged because she thought she saw me near her house. And she was right. I jog on her street.

I’m telling you people, this community thing is all around us if we’ll just take a few deep breaths and look around.

So there’s my positive thinking for the day.

Community=good

Grocery stores=not so good, but not as bad as they may seem

2 comments on “Seething vs. Seeing

  1. Darla says:

    Tasting the boxed donuts??? Do you mean she was actually opening the boxes and tasting the donuts? Disgusting! I am amazed at how many people I see in Brogers that I know. I have never lived anywhere else where that has happened so often. That is community, and Georgetown seems to have alot of it. Maybe you can try going to Brogers at 7:00 a.m., instead of going to the gym : )

    • elizabeth says:

      This comment definitely made me laugh, Darla. Thanks! I didn’t actually see her open the box, but when I came upon her, she was definitely eating something and licking her fingers (for real), and she had just stepped away from the boxed donuts.

      With nobody in the way to bother me, laps around the store might count as a workout. 🙂

Leave a Reply

