And so it begins again…

4 comments on “And so it begins again…

  1. Liz's Dad says:

    You are starting a little earlier than we are…well, not me,but I heard others talking about starting soon. I am not starting anything from seeds this year. Gail only wants cucumbers and peppers so I will buy a few plants. And my friend Keith has a big garden and I can pick anything I need there. I guess I will have to volunteer some time with him!

  2. stephen says:

    Kelsie has almost finalized her list of seeds to buy and her garden design. We will be expanding our garden substantially this year. I am pretty sure we will have enough veggies to start a roadside veggie stand or at least donate lots to the foodbank.

    Happy harvesting.

  3. anne rose says:

    I’m so jealous. We grew 13 different veggies for years, and love the feel of the soil through my fingers, but old Mother Nature has taken its toll on my body and now we are down to just lettuce, onion and radishes, then later peppers, red and bananna, and tomatoes!
    HAPPY GARDENING to each and every one of you!

  4. elizabeth says:

    Thanks, friends. We have cold frames, so we really should have gotten motivated a little sooner! Hopefully, these seeds will take and we’ll have some early greens. Last year, you might remember that our spinach and lettuce from our fall planting lasted through until Spring (okay, it actually seemed to die off and then miraculously resurrect itself after the hard winter). This year, with the mild winter we’ve had, we probably could have kept spinach all winter long.

    I can’t wait to get the tomatoes and peppers started, but we’re not that organized yet. Once I eat enough yogurt to have plastic starter containers, we’ll get going on those!

    Dad, there are definitely benefits to just buying the plant. Saves time, and it’s much more likely to survive!

    Stephen, we’re just using our leftover seeds from last year and we haven’t decided how much we’ll be expanding the garden this year. Last year we planted everything too close and lost a lot of harvest as a result. This year we’ll be more sensible… or at least hope to be!

    Anne, you should come visit us out at the church community garden some time. We enjoy company, even if it’s just to have folks to talk to! No pressure to actually bend down and get your hands dirty–honest!

Leave a Reply

