Of This I Am Certain

I am looking forward to an upcoming women’s retreat offered through my church because, well, we’re heading to Shaker Village and they’ve got those fancy Tempur-Pedic Swedish mattresses on their guest beds. Needless to say, I look forward to this retreat every year.

The theme for this year’s retreat is “Of This I Am Certain” and for a portion of the retreat, we’ll spend time drafting our spiritual codicils. I only learned the word codicil recently. It refers to an explanatory addendum to a will. We’re using the term loosely, of course, by talking about it in terms of the spiritual truths or life lessons we think are important enough to pass down to the next generation.

This is particularly relevant to my life at the moment, wouldn’t you say?

What makes this whole process extra special is that the majority of the women who participate in the retreat are in a different stage of life than I am–most are at least twenty years my senior, some thirty or more. That’s twenty or thirty years of impressive life experience and, let me tell you, incredible wisdom. These women teach me a lot, and I know they’ve got a lot of codicil-worthy wisdom to pass on to me, not just the next generation in my belly.

A few weeks ago, when I began thinking about the retreat, I decided to brainstorm my of-this-I-am-certain list. To my surprise, ten items came pouring out of my pen, seemingly in no particular order. I hadn’t numbered them, so until I flipped back to them this morning, I hadn’t even noticed there were ten. Nor had I noticed that they were a mix of practical and funny items, and that quite a few were about community and hospitality.

Ah, community. What a surprise.

So of course I’m going to share them with you.

Tomorrow.

In the mean time, add your own thoughts to this post. Of what are YOU most certain? Think broadly. Think specifically. Think spiritually. Think practically. What nuggets of wisdom would you pass down if you had the opportunity?

2 comments on “Of This I Am Certain

  1. Right now I feel most certain I have a ton of stuff to do and not a lot of time to do it.

    • elizabeth says:

      Absolutely! Thanks for chiming in!

      I know you’re sort of kidding (not about having a lot to do, of course) but it does related to one thing we’ve talked about with this theme–it’s possible that the things we’re “certain” of can change over time, over days, even over hours! Maybe big things stay the same (say, a central theological belief) but more typically things will change (say, a conviction of how to walk out that belief). One woman in the group recently lost her spouse, so the things she is “certain” of have changed quite drastically in recent weeks.

Leave a Reply

