Cow Bell Alleluias & What We Do on Easter

Our opening song at church on Sunday was “Christ the Lord Is Risen Today,” which won’t surprise any of you raised in low church traditions like mine, considering it was, ahem, Easter.

But about halfway through the first verse, I found myself unable to sing. This is something that rarely happens to me.

In fact, I’d already paraded around the house singing it a dozen time at that point, and even called my parents bright and early to sing it as an Easter greeting to them, waiting for the sung “Ah-a-a-a-leh-eh-luu-yah” response I knew I’d receive. (I get it honestly, what can I say?)

So it’s not like I’m not familiar with the song.

But at church, singing the song for the dozenth time, it was different.

For one thing, as we sang, members of the church carried Easter lilies down the aisle in memory of loved ones lost in the last year–children toddling with enormous white flowers, middle-aged men, elderly women, all with a lily in their arms to set on the communion table. Those lilies, combined with the dozens already up around the piano and the organ, were quite a sight. I do love Easter lilies.

Our church has felt a lot of loss this year, and seeing those lilies being offered for worship, as we remembered together what we believe Christ has overcome, well, how can we not feel more like church in that moment than any other moment of communal liturgy? Christ the Lord is risen today

Additionally, we had been asked to bring a bell with us to the service, and when the word “alleluia” was spoken or sung, we were to ring our bells. Every time.

For the record, I am someone who takes this charge very seriously. I will ring it in the middle of choir songs, even in the middle of a prayer if need be. Some people brought jingle bells. Some cow bells. Our pastor’s bell this year, from where I sat, looked turquoise. Alleluia

I brought the same pink glass bell I’ve toted to church on Easter morning for the last three years.

It was part of my grandmother’s bell collection.

When I ring it on Easter morning, I think of her.

When I see lilies carried down the aisle at church, I think of her.

When I read lines of the hymn like

Love’s redeeming work is done, Alleluia!
Fought the fight, the battle won, Alleluia!

or

Where, O death, is now thy sting? Alleluia!

or

Made like Him, like Him we rise, Alleluia!

I think of her, and I find myself unable to sing.

Heck, yesterday, I wasn’t even able to mouth the words. For most of the song, my bell didn’t ring either. I was choked up.

Instead, I listened. Listened to others’ voices. To other people ringing their bells. Especially to the joy of the little children enjoying making a ruckus at church.

Because that is what we do on Easter.

We make a ruckus ringing bells, and we do it for each other.

Alleluia.

8 comments on “Cow Bell Alleluias & What We Do on Easter

  1. Olivia says:

    Definitely miss singing that song. Reminds me of growing up. Still know the words…just don’t sing it at my church. :-/

    If you get a chance…this is the song I have been getting choked up over. Found it on Friday, and have listened to it multiple times daily since. The words are so powerful. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-3L5SJyPpZk&feature=share

    Love you. Happy Easter!

    O

    • elizabeth says:

      That is a lovely song, O. Thanks for sharing it. I like that it has some language that evokes the old hymns. But I’m a nerd and always like literary allusions. 🙂

      By the way, your church growing up was the first place I’d ever experienced a Maundy Thursday service (and with a foot-washing to boot!). Kind of interesting that our church experiences have kind of switched, isn’t it? 🙂

      Love you!

  2. Bonnie (Mom) says:

    Your service sounds wonderful!!! We did ‘flowering of the cross’, an old rugged cross covered with chicken wire, congregants either brought or were given a cut flower to stick in the wire. During the processional ‘Up from the Grave’ and ‘Christ the Lord is Risen . .’ were sung. Just watching all the people (and there were lots since it was Easter) singing and listening to the words about our blessed hope brought me to tears too!!!! I love the bell thing! Where would we be without memories? and our Blessed Hope? Of course, I cried too reading your post! love you

    • Olivia says:

      Bonnie,

      Talk about community…you went to church with my brother’s family! They live right down the road from you on Powell’s Valley Rd. They live where the old meat market building (I believe it was white) used to be, in a yellow two story house.

      My sis-in-law was telling me about their flower cross they had at their service and took pictures with my nephew and niece by the cross after the service. 🙂

  3. Becky Collins says:

    Elizabeth,
    Thank you for the beautiful story of our Easter Service. I, too, was moved to tears as I heard and sang the familiar hymns. Memories of loved ones lost this past year were ever present! However, seeing the draped cross, hearing the beautiful music, listening to the words of our pastor and watching my precious granddaughter bring a lily to the communion table in memory of my dear Mother, and knowing “Our Blessed Hope”, brought “Alleluia” to my mind, heart and lips!

    • elizabeth says:

      Thanks for sharing, Becky. Easter is a great time for remembering, especially the Good News for which we are thankful.

      Allelulia, Alleluia.

Leave a Reply

