A Milestone Worth Celebrating…

This year marks some milestone birthdays in our family, and today’s belongs to my dad. I won’t reveal the special number, but, well, let’s just say it rhymes with “nixty.” 

In honor of him, here’s a post that has pretty much nothing to do with community. But I hope you’ll join with me in wishing him a Happy “Nixtieth” Birthday.

10 things I've learned from my dad over 
     the years, in no particular order
- How to fry the perfect egg, ice a cake, 
     and make strong coffee.
- It is probably not a good idea to go chop 
     down trees in the woods by yourself.
- Do not call anyone after 9 pm.
- Teenage boys really do have only one 
     thing on their minds.
- If you're respectful, anything is up 
     for discussion.
- Dying my hair green would only make 
     me look stupid, not him.
- The best conversations happen after 
     dinner.
- Always offer dessert, even if it's just 
     the bin of Little Debbie snacks.
- Sometimes a generous tip to a grouchy 
     waitress is being Christ to her.

And last, but certainly not least,

- Why, yes, you can reheat coffee in the microwave.

Happy Birthday, Daddio!

8 comments on “A Milestone Worth Celebrating…

  1. Elaine says:

    Happy birthday, Steve.

    Liz, I would add one more from my dad – always have some change in your pocket so you can get or call home. Great memories here 🙂

    • elizabeth says:

      That’s a good one, too, though I’m guessing that pay phones are fewer and farther between these days.

      I remember my dad telling me that no matter what the circumstances I found myself in, no matter where I was, what I was doing, or even if I was breaking some serious rules, I was supposed to call if I needed a ride home, no questions asked. It’s one of the reasons we were given cell phones so early. (Granted, I was a good kid, but I still appreciated the sentiment!)

  2. stephen says:

    Something else I’ve learned from him that I repeat often… “Boy, remember where you are.” Translation => Just because you’ve been a snot somewhere else, doesn’t mean you can be a snot here. Remember, Dad’s rule rules. Pretty much his only rule was => Be respectful and obedient.

  3. Liz's Dad says:

    Liz – Please break rule number three if you are having a baby. 🙂 I LOVE YOU!

  4. Dale Hoy says:

    Happy Biethday!!

Leave a Reply

