Ode to My Momma

Today is Mother’s Day.

Yesterday was my momma’s birthday, which was another one of the year’s milestones in the family. In honor of her, and this wonderful day dedicated to mommas everywhere, here’s another list.

13 Things I've Learned From My Momma 
Over the Years (in no particular 
order):
-- How to sing harmony.
-- Flour need not be measured 
    precisely.
-- A weed is anything growing 
    where you don't want it to be.
-- "Just ignore him, Elizabeth."
-- Always wipe the counters.
-- Wash the dishes as you go.
-- Sometimes it's hard to trust 
    people...
-- ...but forgiveness is always the 
    best option.
-- Hospitals throw away a lot of perfectly useful things.
-- It is okay to take a nap.
-- Always send someone else your travel itinerary and emergency contact 
   number.
-- Fresh herbs make a big difference.

And last, but certainly not least,

-- Call your mom on Saturdays.

Happy Birthday, Momma!

9 comments on “Ode to My Momma

  1. elizabeth says:

    The photograph is of me (bottom right), my brother, my momma (top right), her momma (top left), and her momma (top middle). Three generations of mommas!

  2. Momma (Bonnie) says:

    Thanks Liz, I love you. And now you are a momma!

  3. Darla says:

    Loved the simplicity and depth of what you learned from your Momma. And, Happy Mother’s Day to you. Looking forward to seeing you and Clara Sophia, and Jonathan!, sometime soon. Hope you are relaxedly moving into this parenthood thing! Much love,
    Darla

  4. stephen says:

    I am glad I got an indirect mention in there… “just ignore him, Elizabeth” 🙂

    Nice job.. Sister..

    Happy Mother’s Day.

    • elizabeth says:

      Haha. Yeah, I knew I had to include that one. It’s good advice I was never very good at following! 🙂

  5. Jess says:

    in the spirit of the post:
    – if you pinch off the end of a leggy plant, it will grow more fully
    – most of the time, saying less means more

    thx for causing me to think a bit.
    Your parents’ friend, Jess Long

    • elizabeth says:

      Good advice! Similarly, my mom is all about pinching off the dead flowers of flowering plants. She just bought some hanging baskets for our porch while she’s in town and has given me precise instructions about these things. 🙂

Leave a Reply

