Black and white and read all over

This may sound silly, but it was not until college–actually, at my now-husband’s family’s home over breaks–that I was first exposed to the concept of the daily newspaper.

Okay, so of course I knew that there were people who subscribed to the newspaper, but only in a vague Lady and the Tramp sort of way. (Remember that scene with the hole torn in the newspaper as the guy reads it and drinks his coffee? Yeah, that movie was from 1955. My point exactly.)

But at J’s house, there were always newspapers on the table. And in the mornings, sitting in the kitchen, J and his older brother would take turns reading portions out loud of whatever article they happened to be reading. I’m pretty sure that the other person had usually already read the article in question, but that didn’t stop them from reading sections out loud.

I mostly just listened.

In my house growing up, we bought a Sunday paper most weeks but didn’t typically subscribe. I remember stopping at the convenience store on the way home from church with my mom or walking up to the mini mart a block from my dad’s house to buy one for $1.25. I’m pretty sure the main interest was the coupons, though my brother and I read the Parade section and the comics.

Since we’ve finally settled down here in the Blugrass, J’s been saying “We should get the paper” off and on. Perhaps it is some sort of conviction about wanting to read the news. Maybe he just likes the fifties-era-bygone-print-newspaper feel of old Disney cartoons. Or maybe there’s something more.

Like the fact that we just don’t know when important things are happening in our community.

I’m serious–sometimes even when we know something is happening but we don’t know when, we can’t find out by going to the computer. It would be fair to say that we do not live in a community that does a very good job providing information via the newfangled Interwebs.

July fourth morning, don’t try to find out what time the parade is. Heaven forbid.

When you know there’s a gallery hop once a month but you’re not sure when, don’t Google it. (Actually, I thought I found the solution through a Google search, but when I clicked on that link, it said, “We’re sorry but the page you’re looking for cannot be found.”)

No, for these sources of information, one must head to the newspaper.

And so we subscribed. (We actually subscribed to the newspaper of our nearest big city, which is not the same as our teeny local paper, but it’s a first step.)

It feels like such a grown-up thing to do, a responsible citizen’s activity, sitting around the table, perusing the newspaper, feeling the pulse of the community.

Now if we’re  both at the breakfast table together, our mornings consist of J drinking his hot tea and eating a bagel, reading portions of the paper outloud. (I still just mostly listen.)

And on Sundays, he sets aside the Parade section for me.

10 comments on “Black and white and read all over

  1. Bonnie (Mom and Grandma) says:

    Here in PA, we get the Sunday Patriot News delivered and the Sentinel (Upper Dauphin) which is a weekly local paper. (We even got the Sentinel delivered to WA so we could ‘keep up’ with the local gossip!!!) I did donate blood to the Central PA Blood Bank today thanks to the Sentinel which listed a local blood drive . I just don’t like to read the paper on line!!!! I do remember reading the comics daily when as a child we got the daily newspaper!!!!

    • elizabeth says:

      I was always impressed that they mailed the little Upper Dauphin Sentinel the whole way out to Washington for you. 🙂

  2. Elaine says:

    I would make a comment but I am too busy reading the paper.

  3. Majorie says:

    I’m an early to rise coffee drinker and reading the newspaper. As my husband says, I read it from cover to cover.

  4. stephen says:

    Being the brother referenced above, we usually only read the comics and Parade section. Shortly after I got married, we did subscribe to the Sunday paper, mainly for the comics and coupons. In college, I read a few national newspapers, but they were free for students and required reading for many of my business classes. Now, I do read local news online regularly, but we don’t subscribe to the paper at home because they don’t have coupons and I can never find the schedule for local events. Probably because I haven’t fully integrated into the community enough to know where they hide them in the paper. 🙂

    • elizabeth says:

      Have you seen the Parade section (apparently called Parade magazine) recently? It’s rather scrawny. Is my memory fading or did it used to be somewhat more substantial? I’d say maybe it seemed bigger because I was littler, but I never was that little. 🙂

  5. Ryan says:

    i love the irony that an ad for McDonalds is on your blog (and I know you have little or no control over that). it just made me smile

    ps. I still just read the paper for the comics…the rest is just gravy

Leave a Reply

