On Kicking Butt, Running Hard, and Praying Mommas

Pardon me while I toot my own horn a minute.

I ran a 10K race this morning.

Ten kilometers.

Six-point-two miles.

And my friend Christie and I averaged a per-mile pace that was significantly faster than I typically run, even on the treadmill.

And it was super cold this morning.

And I had a baby 6 months ago tomorrow.

But enough about my awesomeness. That’s not the point of this post.

The “Run for Another 10K” was organized to raise awareness–and funds, of course–for Promise Kids a Future, a nonprofit international adoption agency. I signed up for it a few weeks ago because (a) it was for a good cause, (b) the 10k route was right here in my little town, and (c) I am a crazy person.

I hadn’t exactly been running on a regular basis since Little Bean was born, and until this last week, hadn’t managed to survive 3 miles at one go. But we know people who have adopted internationally or are in the process of adopting through Promise Kids a Future, and I decided to give it a shot. I approached it thinking that my performance didn’t really matter; it was as if I was donating my registration fee to a nonprofit I like and, heck, I’d get a free T-shirt out of it.

As we ran the course, we came across photos of some of the orphaned Ugandan children–including one of the little girls being adopted by our friends.

It was heart-warming and heart-breaking at the same time. My Little Bean was snug as a bug at home taking a nap, or at least she was supposed to be, and here were these children without homes, without families.

Some were only infants. Others were older children.

And they were smiling beautifully.

When we passed the photo of Grace, who will soon be adopted by our mutual friends, Christie said, “That sure would make a Momma run harder.”

Yes.

So I ran harder, too, and thought of my little bean.

And I also thought of my momma, who visited us this last week. My momma was praying for me this morning.

When I got back in the car, there was a voicemail on my phone. I’m praying for you baby, she said. You will run and not grow weary. You can do all things through Christ who gives you strength.

I know I couldn’t have run that race alone.

Christie is pretty great, and I’m pretty sure she only signed up for it so I didn’t have to do it by myself. Thanks, friend.

And, Momma, you’re also pretty great. I couldn’t have done it without you either.

16 comments on “On Kicking Butt, Running Hard, and Praying Mommas

  1. Keri Bayne says:

    You are amazing! So proud of you for doing this! As a fairly new runner (I struggle to hit 2.5 miles), I think you definitely deserve to toot your own horn. And may each of those precious faces on those signs find their forever family soon!

    • elizabeth says:

      Thanks, Keri! You’re sweet. I’m not a “hard core” runner (that’s how I characterize the people who actually look like runners at the races–you know, the people who actually run to warm up before hand? I try to conserve all possible energy before I begin!).

      Maybe we can run together if you’re in town for the reunion?

      • Keri Bayne says:

        We will be there! Can’t wait to see everyone, especially your little bean, and I would love to run together!

  2. Olivia says:

    LOVE!!

    Proud of you and your AMAZING time!

    • elizabeth says:

      Aw, thanks friend! I actually thought of you quite a bit during the race because there was a woman in front of us much of the time who looked a lot like you. I thought, Olivia can run a freakin’ half-marathon, I can kick the butt of this silly little race!

      Love you, O!

  3. Love it! Thanks for coming out this morning and supporting our kiddos! Yep, Christie is pretty great!

  4. Ken Holden says:

    Elizabeth,
    I could not remember exactly when your ‘bean’ was born. I did think about that this morning when I saw you. Six months ago you were carrying around a bowling ball. . .and today you completed a 10K. Are you kidding me? Mommas with a mission – YOU ROCK!!
    Thanks for the inspiration.
    Ken

    • elizabeth says:

      Thanks, Ken! You rock, too, of course. I distinctly remember your name being called when it was all said and done. 🙂 Maybe someday I’ll kick it in my age category, too!

  5. Liz's Dad says:

    great job and great post. as they say, no person is an island (no gender bias here!)

    love ya, dad

  6. Rebecca says:

    Rock on! Next, half marathon with me in Rochester in April? 🙂

    • elizabeth says:

      You know, I actually think it would be fun to train for a half-marathon given two things: (1) I finish breastfeeding and (2) it’s a certified flat course.

      This 10k course had some intense hills, as does the 5k route I run in my neighborhood. Pretty much everywhere you can run in Central Kentucky has lots of hills. Similar to your neck of the woods.

      Maybe someday we can run together though–I’d like our paths to cross again soon regardless!

  7. Love this! So proud of you and your inspiration to ME to get back out on the pavement. I miss it, especially in this weather (as weird as that may sound). Congrats!

Leave a Reply

