Politics, Schmolitics, and Getting Worn Out

Is it me or does every Christian magazine or blog seem to be featuring a “Why I’m voting for X” or “Can Christians vote for Y” or “Why I’m  not voting” piece these days? Heck, some folks have told us why you’ll go to hell if you vote for that guy and others have created apps to help us figure out what we as Christians should do.

I’m kind of worn out by it.

Every time I open my mailbox, hop over to Facebook, or end up in front of a TV at the gym, I cringe.

It’s just more of the same. He said, she said. Mud-slinging self-interest. Towing the party line. A downright mean-spirited lack of charity.

Even on the Christians’ Facebook pages, by the way.

Well, this blog is not going to tell you the best candidate to vote for, whether or not you should vote, and certainly not who’s getting my vote.

Because there’s something more important than politics.

They're called people.

_________________________

“Lord, when was it that we saw you hungry and gave you food, or thirsty and gave you something to drink? And when was it that we saw you a stranger and welcomed you, or naked and gave you clothing? And when was it that we saw you sick or in prison and visited you?” And the king will answer them, “Truly I tell you, just as you did it to one of the least of these who are members of my family, you did it to me.”

4 comments on “Politics, Schmolitics, and Getting Worn Out

  1. Liz's Dad says:

    you are absolutely on target. Yes, I am going to vote but it is a private matter with me and if I can help it, I try to stay off the subject. And yes, it is hard even in church….I was almost accosted by a dear lady who meant well on Sunday.

    Almost any political issue people are upset about is an issue that should have been taken care of by the church as your scripture points out. I am afraid that at the end of our lives we will be like Schindler (Schindler’s List, movie) who cried out, “I should have done more.”

    • elizabeth says:

      I often think of that scene in Schindler’s List that you mention. You know I think the church should be doing more in the world, by which I mean that we as Christians need to be doing more in our communities. We can vote to be pro-life or pro-choice, but are we offering a helping hand to unwed mothers in our neighborhoods?

      Heck, today my community votes on school board members as well as city council members, and it makes me wonder, how many of us actually attend city council or school board meetings? I know I don’t… though [*patting myself on the back*] I did read through a voting guide to see where the city council nominees stood on particular issues. As if that’s all it takes to be a responsible citizen!

  2. stephen says:

    Ohh, no. I brought up the politics topic on Sunday. 🙂

    You are absolutely right. There is something more important than politics and yes, it is people.

    People have been forgotten in the world of politics. I believe once upon a time politics was “for the people, and by the people” but I fear that time has long gone. Now it is “for the money, and by the corporation.”

    I totally agree that we as the church have failed and society has relied on the political structure to fill the void.

    We all “should have done more.” Myself included.

    • elizabeth says:

      You mean when we skyped? That’s okay. You weren’t telling me why Christians should vote for a particular person. 🙂 And you live in Saudi Arabia, so it doesn’t count.

      The good news is that we all CAN do more. So many people live (and vote) self-interestedly, but that is certainly not what we’re called to do as Christians. Every dang commercial you see on TV about politics is appealing to your taxes, your job, your healthcare, and whether or not the current or potential administrations have helped you or could help you personally. But whatever happened to ordering our priorities on J-O-Y (Jesus, Others, Yourself)? Don’t we teach that in Sunday school any more? Are we out in our communities putting others in front of ourselves?

      I know, I know, preachin’ to the choir.

      Love you!

Leave a Reply

