Greasy Spoons, Burnt Toast, & Waitresses Who Know You

Greasy SpoonsMy friend Patti took me out for my birthday last week and we went to our mutual favorite greasy spoon restaurant (of which Texas Schmexas has sung praises in the past–here and here).

Patti’s pretty great. She recently became a proud grandma, in addition to being just a grand mama; she’s one of those really crafty people who can make a piece of paper turn into a work of art with a few folds and hand-press thingers; she’s one of my fellow odd ducks who meet monthly to share our writing; and she’s a lover of our local greasy spoon.

She meets there regularly with friends. Weekly, I believe.

She meets there often enough that the waitress who served us last week knew her.

Which is where this story really begins.

Patti ordered a BLT. I ordered a BLT with a fried egg on it. (It was on the menu like that, honest. Why it wasn’t called a bacon and egg sandwich with lettuce and tomato, I don’t know.)

When our sandwiches came out, the waitress began to address Patti as she was approaching our table, before I could even see the sandwiches: “Is this toast too burnt? If it were my toast, I’d send it back. I don’t know why they sent this out like that. Do you want me to take it back?”

I looked at the sandwiches. Her toast was rather charred.

Patti reluctantly agreed that it was too burnt, so a new sandwich was prepared. The waitress returned. “I knew you wouldn’t have said anything,” she said, “so that’s why I brought it up. I know you. You wouldn’t have returned it.”

I know you, the waitress said.

I know you.

And that’s just one more reason why I love this town.

Because Patti wouldn’t have returned the sandwich on her own.

elizabethbyline

4 comments on “Greasy Spoons, Burnt Toast, & Waitresses Who Know You

  1. stephenii says:

    That’s so cool. To know these people and to be known by these people.

    • elizabeth says:

      Maybe someday I’ll get to that point, too! Only having lived here five years, which feels like an eternity to me, still makes me a newbie compared to everyone else!

  2. Darla says:

    Loved this story. I really enjoy getting to know service people in restaurants, grocery stores, etc. Not all want to get to know their customers, but when a connection occurs it is so cool! I look forward to seeing Gail at Brogers, Alice at Balmart, Rebecca at the Bavilion, etc. so we can catch up on what is going on in our lives. Keep working on it Elizabeth. I’ve been here 8 years. Must say this did not work in our previous location, which I won’t identify, but people were NOT friendly and did not want to get to know anyone from “the outside”.

    • Elizabeth says:

      “Bavilion” cracked me up. 🙂 Nice one.

      I’m not good at paying attention to people’s names but I definitely chat with them. Sometimes J thanks the check-out folks by name and it confuses me for a second because I think he actually knows them. (He does know a lot of them, since they’re often former students.) But he’s usually just reading their name tag. The woman who always works the self-checkout at Broger is really great and extremely chatty and interacts with Little Bean as I check-out. I should learn her name, at the very least!

      Thanks for commenting, Darla!

Leave a Reply

