“Please Don’t Call Me Homeless” (part 2)

[For an introduction to the play Please Don’t Call Me  Homeless…I Don’t Call You Homed, read yesterday’s post, found here.]

“I saw the spirit world.”

That’s what he said, this man who’d spent time living on the streets.

“I saw the spirit world.”

In at least three of the stories told by cast members of Please Don’t Call Me  Homeless–either during the play or after it as they joined us for a Q&A–their courageous journeys off of the streets and into a home included significant spiritual journeys, too.

These voices spoke honestly and openly about brokenness and wholeness, about meeting God on a bus on the way to rehab, about recognizing that they couldn’t make it on their own, about courage and determination combined with humility and confession.

For those with ears to hear, there was much wisdom in these words.

But one voice in particular from that night keeps echoing in my mind, one line that I can’t release my grip on just yet. This voice wanted us to know that we’re all broken in some way or another, that sometimes it is only when we are honest about how broken we are that we can see others for who they are.

“I see broke spirits because I was one.”

That’s what he said, this man who’d spent time living on the streets.

“I see broke spirits because I was one.”

There’s something to this. When we ‘fess up to our brokenness, we see it around us, we see others, and it calls us to love. It calls  us to have ears to hear.

It calls us to community.

2 comments on ““Please Don’t Call Me Homeless” (part 2)

  1. Stephen says:

    The concept of brokeness is one of my favorite ideas, mainly because my favorite Bible character is King David. Not many individuals were as broken as he was. He also was forced to flee and make his home in caves, ditches, and fields. It was in this place of fleeing and being broken that he found a community in a similar situation to his. He found a community that came to his side, he was honest and real with his brokeness, as can be read in many psalms.

  2. elizabeth says:

    Stephen,
    Thanks for this good reminder about brokenness and community. The Psalms are really a great place to go for this sort of stuff–even the radical community stuff of caring for the widow, the orphan, the sojourner. We should be more willing to sift through that material and cling to it and memorize it. Some of it is some pretty crazy stuff, but it’s worth digging into, I think.

Leave a comment